Social Host Liability in Missouri
In Missouri, if an underage guest of property that is leased, owned, or otherwise controlled by an individual (known as the “social host”) is charged with possession or consumption of alcohol, then the social host may be liable. The standard of liability is knowledge, meaning that a social host who knowingly allows or knowingly fails to prevent underage consumption or possession by a guest is criminally liable. However, if the social host is the parent or guardian of the underage drinker in question, this criminal liability does not exist. First-time offender social hosts are guilty of a class B misdemeanor. Committing the same violation again will lead to a class A misdemeanor. In Missouri, a class B misdemeanor can mean up to six months in county jail and up to a $500 fine. A class A misdemeanor can result in up to one year of jail time, and up to $1000 fine. In Missouri, the criminal liability for social hosts of underage drinkers does not extend to civil liability at this time.
Visit State Profiles of Underage Drinking Laws – MO to see a profile of the underage drinking laws in Missouri.